Close icon to exit the modal
Search icon

CPA Calculator: Calculate Cost Per Acquisition in 3 Steps

Measure the success of your campaign easily with Publift’s cost per acquisition calculator. Our CPA calculator helps you to easily estimate the cost to acquire new customers from specific campaigns.

CPA Calculator

Disclaimer: Estimations are subject to your individual website and existing setup. Please note that these are estimates only. Contact us for a more detailed analysis or personalised demo by filling out the form above.

Measure the success of your campaign easily with Publift’s cost per acquisition calculator. Our CPA calculator helps you to easily estimate the cost to acquire new customers from specific campaigns, so you can optimize your efforts and maximize the return on investment (ROI) on our marketing spend.

What Is Cost Per Acquisition (CPA)?

Cost Per Acquisition (CPA) is a metric that measures the aggregate cost to acquire a paying customer on a campaign.

CPA is one of the most important performance indicators for advertisers in online advertising as it relates directly to the end goal of every business process—sales.

Cost Per Acquisition (CPA) Formula

The formula to calculate CPA is as follows:
CPA = Total Cost of Campaign / Number of Conversions

Suppose an advertiser spends $5,000 on an online advertising campaign per month, resulting in 100 conversions during a specific month (for instance, purchases made on the company's website). In this case, the CPA of the company for that month can be calculated as follows:

CPA = $5,000 / 100 = $50

This implies that each conversion in the campaign cost the company $50. In other words, it costs the business $50 to acquire a new customer, and hence this is their cost per acquisition.

How to Calculate CPA Using the CPA Calculator?

Use our cost CPA calculator to determine the CPA of your ad campaigns in three easy steps.

  1. Determine your total ad spend: Calculate the total cost of the advertising campaign. If you’re not sure of the exact figure, you can check it in the analytics dashboard of the platform you are using to run your ads.
  2. Count your conversions: Next, input the number of conversions or acquisitions into the CPA calculator. In the above example, the business acquired 100 new paying customers, so input "100" in the "conversions" field.

What Is Considered a Good CPA?

A "good" CPA can vary depending on the industry, business models, and conversion rate. While aiming for a good CPA, keep in mind that the average customer lifetime value (CLV) can be an essential metric to determine whether a CPA is "good" or not.

A CPA lower than 30% of the CLV can be considered good since it means the advertiser makes a profit from every new customer. On the other hand, a higher CPA indicates the need for adjustments in your advertising strategy.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q.

Why Is CPA Rate Important?

Plus or add icon in white

CPA measures the aggregate cost to acquire a customer from a specific ad campaign, providing users with an accurate picture of their campaign efficiency. Understanding CPA helps marketers evaluate their advertising campaign and its efficiency across paid marketing channels. This, in turn, allows them to make informed decisions, adjust strategy, and improve marketing efforts for the best result.

Q.

What Is a Typical CPA Rate?

Plus or add icon in white

The typical cost per acquisition rate can vary depending on several factors such as the industry, market, the advertising platform, conversion rate, and the effectiveness of the marketing campaign.

Q.

What Affects Your CPA?

Plus or add icon in white

Several factors, such as target audience, ad quality and relevance, bidding strategy, competition, and conversion rate affect the average CPA. Keep in mind that lowering your cost per acquisition is a good goal, but it’s not the only factor to consider as there are other metrics like lifetime value that affect the profitability of your ad campaigns.

Deep Dive into Programmatic Advertising

Play video
Play icon
Play video
Layout Teardown: Episode 3 — Cars.com's Sophisticated Ad Strategy
Play or video icon
46 mins watch
Layout Teardown: Episode 3 — Cars.com's Sophisticated Ad Strategy

In this week's episode, we're taking a look at cars.com, one of the biggest auto marketplaces in the US. Ben and Brock speak about the detailed insights and suggestions for optimizing cars.com’s ad revenue.

Publishers
Publisher Resources
Insights
Platforms
All
Play video
Play icon
Play video
What is AdSense Arbitrage? Best Practices for Using AdSense Arbitrage
Play or video icon
4 mins watch
What is AdSense Arbitrage? Best Practices for Using AdSense Arbitrage

We're delving deep into the world of AdSense arbitrage—a game-changing strategy where publishers invest in ads to drive traffic.

Publishers
Publisher Resources
Monetisation
Insights
Industry News

Ready to boost your ad revenue?

Are you an AdSense or Google Ad Manager user looking to grow your business?

AdSense is a great starting point, but it’s just one demand partner. Find out how you can get more revenue from your site without impacting users with Publift’s programmatic advertising platform Fuse.

Fuse is also built for Independent Publishers looking to access more premium demand partners.

Fuse is also built for Independent Publishers looking to access more premium demand partners.
Get even more competition for your ad inventory with access to over 25 premium demand partners. We’ll set you up with the best partners for your individual site, with personalised ad optimisations unique to your users and business model. Get access to all of your reporting in one place with our Fuse all-in-one automated reporting dashboard.

Are you an App Publisher or App Developer looking to increase your ad revenue?

Boost your in-app ad revenue and grow your business with Fuse Apps by Publift. We’ll give you access to over 10 app advertising demand partners, and make sure you have the right ad formats to maximise your revenue without impacting user experience.


Are you ready to power-up?

Get started